Dear Mr. President

Dear Mr President:
This is a first for me.  I have never written a letter to the President or to any political figure for that matter.  In fact, this election year has held a lot of first for me.
 You see, I have never considered myself much of a political person.  I did my part and voted, but I never really got overly involved or really invested a lot of time educating myself during previous elections.  I admit I kind of just floated along, with no real convictions one way or the other, but this year was different.  This year is the first time I have ever been compelled to write the President a letter.  It  is also the first time I really did my research on all the candidates and the questions on the ballot.  And for the first time ever, I was anxious during the final days of the campaigns.  I just wanted it to be over, but was afraid for it to be over.  I had stress dreams about the election outcome and although I knew who I was voting for, I did not feel confident I was voting for who I thought was right, but rather, who I thought was the lesser of two evils so to speak.
I slept fitfully election night and I was actually afraid to turn on the news to see who won, not 100% sure I would feel good whatever the outcome was  and what killed me the most is that I could not put a finger on my unease..on why I was feeling so anxious and lost.
But as things settled down and I began to really reflect on these feelings I realize two things – I was scared and I was embarrassed.  Scared because of the direction our country has taken and embarrassed of what our country has become.
  I try to live my life based on faith – in myself, in others and most importantly, in God.   I love my family and friends fiercely,  no matter what they believe and I try not to judge others because I do not want to be judged.  I teach my children to love themselves, to treat others as they would  want to be treated even if others do not return the favor.  I want them to know that we all bring a special, unique view to the world and its our job to grow that gift and share it with the world.  I want them to respect themselves and others, to listen to everyone’s ideas, whether they agree or not, and use       I try to teach them to be have pride in themselves, that hard work strengthens their bodies and minds, and that faith and love can help them overcome anything life throws their way.  In short, I am trying to teach them to be decent human beings.
Notice I said try because, quite honestly, it is a work in progress.  Believe me, I will be the first to tell you that my family and I are far from perfect.  In fact, we are everything, but perfect and that suits me just fine.   We make lots of mistakes, we fight, we do not see eye to eye on several things, but the one thing we do have is love.  We have the knowledge that no matter what is ahead, we have each others’ backs 100% and therefore, we can never really fail.
When I look around America, I see people who are caught up in their own little worlds, not paying attention to the things or to others around them.  Not willing to lend a hand, not just the big thing in life, like national disasters, but the little things, like holding a door open for someone.  We have become a nation of haters,  judging others who do not think like us, looking down our noses at those who are different.  We are a nation where a news story about a good deed is a a rarity rather then the norm, where people hurt each other over materials things or just because they can.   We are a country where, mind yor manners, please and thank you, and be nice to others have all but been forgotten.  We have created a generation of people who feel entitled to certain privileges and lifestyles,  whether they work for it or not and we have forgotten the key ingredient that bonds us all together – that we are all human beings first.
“If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.     Mother Theresa said this and I received it today in an email from a friend.  It seemed fitting to what I have been feeling lately.
 You, Mr. President, are the head of this family we call America.  You and Congress are the ones who must lead by example and focus on the values that once made America great.  Your family has become dysfunctional, Mr. President, and it is time for a family meeting.  It is time to put aside our difference and work toward rebuilding humanity, not just the country.
 I am not sure how we can fix the mess we have gotten ourselves into, in fact,  I am really scared we can’t.  Because America’s problems go deeper then a bad economy, fiscal deficit, and foreign affairs.  You, Mr President must do the toughest, almost impossible, job of all.  You must set an example.  You must start to reteach the people of this country how to be human beings again.  Then and only then, will the rest of problems begin to be solved.
Respectfully,
A member of your family
Sue
Leave a Reply

